Transitioning to a remote learning environment—especially on short notice and in challenging circumstances—can take some adjustment for both you and your students. If your school is moving to remote learning in response to COVID-19, here are some tips for using your free teacher account to support online instruction.
You can send documents and other files directly to your classes by adding an attachment to any message you compose. If you’re using the app, you can take photos in real time or record voice clips. On desktop, you can drag and drop files into the Remind composer, including screenshots.
Students and parents who receive text notifications can access the file through a link in the message.
If you use Google Classroom, Google Drive, or Microsoft OneDrive to manage your instructional materials, you can connect these accounts to Remind. Once you add these accounts, you can access and attach content directly from the composer.
Other accounts you can connect directly to Remind include Box, Flipgrid, SignUp, SignUpGenius, and SurveyMonkey.
Here’s what that looks like on desktop.
For classrooms moving to video instruction with videoconferencing tools like Zoom or Google Hangouts Meet, you can share the links to video calls or pre-recorded content via Remind.
If you use any of the other educational tools listed here, look for the blue Share on Remind button in the same place you usually see options for sharing. Clicking on the button will take you directly to a Remind message with a link to the content that you want to share.
When two-way messaging is enabled, you can communicate directly with students and families to answer questions and provide individual support. Personal contact information is never shown, and conversations are always available to access in your message history.
Class participants can send messages in the same way they receive your notifications—by text, by app, and online. You can set office hours for your account to let them know when you’re available.
Class settings can be updated on a class-by-class basis for additional collaboration. If you share a class with co-teachers or administrators, you can add them as class owners to give them the same permissions that you have.
From your settings, you can also allow class participants to message each other for discussion, activities, and questions. The options include messaging anyone else in the class, other participants with the same role (student or parent), or just you and any other class owners.
Once messaging is enabled, participants will also be able to create group conversations for additional collaboration.
Need to communicate with your class about day-to-day developments? Read our guide to using Remind for urgent situations. And if you’re having trouble using Remind, get in touch with our Support team here.