Manage communication across your organization with default class settings

Manage communication across your organization with default class settings

In a remote learning environment, two-way communication is more important for students and families than ever. But when everything’s happening virtually, keeping track of communication across your organization—including who’s communicating, in which classes, with whom, and how—is a new challenge on top of the ones administrators are already navigating.

Now, the Remind plan includes default settings for classes to help you support two-way communication across your organization. As an administrator, you can set defaults for:

Approval to join classes

For an additional layer of security, you can require approval for joining classes across your organization. When this setting is enabled, only people who class owners add or approve can join a class on Remind.

Class visibility

With class visibility, you can determine whether classes are searchable on Remind and visible on each class owner’s Remind profile. 

Participant messaging

Choose from three options for how participants can message others in a class: on (everyone can message each other), role-based (students can message students, parents can message parents), or off (participants can only message the class owner).

Of course, not all classes require the same level of oversight. While administrators can set default class settings for an organization, teachers can still choose the settings that work best for their classes, whether to encourage discussion between participants or limit conversations to a smaller group.

Default class settings are available through the Remind plan.